The STRIVE Award, presented by NCYS and AIG,
praises sports organizations' commitment to young
athletes' health, wellness and safety.


NCYS and AIG are proud to present the STRIVE Award for Organization of the Year. This award recognizes organizations implementing promising practices and policies to protect young athletes.

This award praises organizations’ commitment to young athletes’ health, wellness and safety. It demonstrates that it is possible for Sports to Teach Respect, Initiative, Values and Excellence without compromising safety.

Promising practices may include background screening for employees, contractors and volunteers, head injury and concussion education, baseline testing, nutrition and hydration, facility and equipment maintenance and response to injuries, etc.

Babe Ruth League Selected as STRIVE Organization of the Year

Following the passage of the Safe Sport Act in 2018, the Babe Ruth League began to increase its efforts to keep athletes safe.  It partnered with SportsEngine to provide a complete safety solution that included comprehensive background checks, implemented abuse prevention training that fulfills the requirement set forth by the Safe Sport Act, increased its safety resources, revamped its coaching education, improved its risk management approach for concussions and provided educational content for parents.  The organization made a huge investment in time and resources because the safety program is just as important as an investment in equipment and facilities.

The STRIVE Award for Organization of the Year will be presented to Babe Ruth League at a date and location yet to be determined. Four other organizations were a finalist for Organization of the Year including:

  • ABC Youth Sports (Baltimore, Md)
  • CoachSafely Foundation (Birmingham, Al)
  • US Club Soccer (Frisco, Tx) and
  • US Youth Soccer Association (Frisco, Tx)